Dear Dancer, You Can Do It! | Meet Keonna Timmons Dance Canvas Spring 2024 Intern

“Take a moment, you can do this, try again, and don’t give up!” These are the words I continuously have uttered to myself as a dancer and throughout life maturing as a person. As I learned dance and ballet basics online from a young age and took dance classes in middle school, I began to strengthen my confidence and anxiety.

My name is Keonna Timmons, I am a student in my final year at Georgia Institute of Technology studying Business in Marketing counting down the days where I can say “I Got Out!” The arts have always been a part of my life, dancing since age seven, playing clarinet since age ten, and singing since age six. However, my love for dance has always prevailed, because when I dance, I feel I have the freedom to speak and express myself through the motions.

My dance journey began during middle school at Kameo Studios in Decatur. I took jazz and hip-hop classes and then proceeded to join one of its first dance teams. Through this experience, I made connections and experienced opportunities such as being featured in music videos and on the TV show Bring It. Though these were all amazing experiences, I knew I still had much to improve in my technique and self-confidence. In high school, I tried out for the band majorette dance team. The try-outs and conditioning were over two to three months as this was an open audience try-out. This is where my years of dance began to take shape in forms of confidence in my art and where I began to believe in my talent. I spent 2 years on the team where I took workshops, classes, training, and a series of field shows participating in genres ranging from jazz, hip-hop, and contemporary dance.

Now within my current studies in Business Administration in Marketing, I am able to transfer the skills of perseverance, creativity, and expression into my future career. I realized the importance of discovery of what makes me unique to build my personal brand. I love marketing because it asks the why and deeper questions to highlight the beauty in a brand. With this I discovered it’s important to know there is beauty and worth in all things created. I am continuing to fully leverage my skills specifically in digital marketing and design to then help others find their sparks and joy in the arts and dance and showcase this to reach many throughout the world. 

We know we can’t reach that split or beautiful extension through laying down or “sitting at home eating a bag of chips” – an instructor once told me, but only through putting in the effort and heart. I am deepening my learning through Google’s Digital Marketing Certificate where I am learning more about aspects of e-mail marketing, analytics, SEOs, and much more. I am extremely excited to be working alongside the non-profit business entertainment world of Dance Canvas and seeing how I can apply my learnings.

I am forever thankful for the coaches and instructors I have met in my time in dance. This journey not only taught me how to become a stronger dancer but a more well-rounded person. This goes beyond the dance floor and is found in our character, how we treat others, and the ability to work as a team. I continued my journey throughout college taking classes in the more foundational art of ballet while improving my studies in business administration. In this internship, I hope to discover and combine the arts and business of dance and discover all that goes into productions and aiding others in the pursuit of their craft. Dreams are not made to remain on paper or as a thought that feels far to reach. But with the right mindset and faith, all can be achieved. With one step at a time, I discover each day how this dancer can do it in the studio and beyond.

Leave a comment