A Change in Trajectory; Meet Malia Henderson, Spring 2023 Intern  

By Malia Henderson, Dance Canvas Spring 2023 Intern

My name is Malia Henderson, and my dance journey began at age nine after seeing a performance by the Renowned Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. Inspired to evoke the elegance, strength, and passion that I absorbed from this performance, I spent many years in South Florida training in Modern, Ballet, and Contemporary dance techniques. As I grew to discover new avenues of movement, I found enjoyment in West African, Jazz, Hip hop, and Commercial style dance. Engaging in this art form provided me a safe space to have creative freedom, and also an outlet for me to express my voice and step outside of my usual introverted self.

 Growing up I never visualized myself having any other profession outside of dance and the arts. This encouraged me to pursue a Bachelor and Fine Arts Degree in Dance at Alabama State University, where I am currently a senior preparing to graduate in May of 2023. My collegiate education has helped me blossom into a well-rounded artist with a broad movement vocabulary as I find inspiration in a variety of unique styles. Gaining knowledge about the wide-ranging possibilities that a career in the arts can bring, my artistic fervor expanded beyond just being a performer. I have developed a deep love and passion for choreographing; being able to generate a vision and bring it to life; being able to move others through storytelling and creativity; being able to bring people into my world and communicating my ideas, feelings, and perspectives through immersive experiences. Indulging in this connects me closer to my purpose of building community, sharing art, and assisting others in finding their light through art. 

In the future, I see myself as a choreographer, artistic director, and business administrator, creating spaces for dance and other artistic genres to be showcased, shared, and engaged in. This internship with Dance Canvas has continued to broaden my perspectives of the arts industry, as it helped me learn the Production, Management, Marketing, and other business aspects of this world. I am learning about the ins and outs of operating an organization, as well as the resources I can use to elevate my creative abilities to new platforms. The network of dancers and choreographers that I have been able to meet is also a wonderful benefit of working with Dance Canvas. I am more than grateful to receive so many useful tools that allow me to expand my potential as an artist and will one day change the trajectory of my impact within the dance community. 

Leave a comment