DC Next Says…

1093470_10152558816087930_70601170_o

DC Next Class of 2014 

Last year’s DC Next students Lily Kren, Qaid Smith, and Sevon Wright tell us about their time at the 3-week summer intensive. These three students were chosen to create and present their very own choreography. Their experiences have helped them grow and improve as dancers and leaders for their future goals.

Let’s hear what they had to say!

First here’s Lily Kren:

10468116_10202900686981022_5645877067584967004_o

“Angela Harris, and the entire team who accepted me into DC Next in 2014, were remarkable. They taught me more than I ever thought possible, coming from a performing arts high school. In addition to challenging and unique classes in ballet and modern, with excellent guest artists, I learned a lot about choreography. This is one of the main reasons I was interested in this program. I had no idea what I had in store for myself. As tough as it was at times, there were always great helpers to assist. They really wanted me to jump in and swim, so they didn’t babysit, but they were always right there to help. In the end, it was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I grew so much as a dancer, choreographer and a person. The dancers in the intensive were great and everyone was really creative. I loved it because everyone was as serious as I was, yet they knew how to have fun and learn all at the same time. I made several good friends and have kept up with them. I hope our paths will cross again. DC Next is the best summer intensive in Atlanta! It is action packed with all kinds of useful information and tools, and experienced people to help us process it all. The headshots we took were the best I have taken and I use them constantly. I had the time of my life and am so grateful to have had the chance to participate.”

Our next DC Next Student, Qaid Smith: image1

“Last year at DC Next, I had an amazing time bonding and getting to know my fellow dancers and teachers. The classes were like no other! Especially because there were no mirrors! It actually really helped me grow and learn my body placement and alignment. My favorite class overall was the choreography/composition class we had throughout the week. I, along with two other people, was chosen to have my choreography presented in the showcase we had at the end of our intensive. That was a great process for me because I actually want to be a choreographer. It helped me learn how to choreograph in a short period of time. Overall, I can’t thank Ms. Angela enough for accepting me into the program last year. It really helped me in my development, not only as a dancer, but as a person. Lastly, I want the dancers to always remember if you fall, always land in a dip!”

And lastly, Sevon Wright: PhotoGrid_1426473367866

“I attended DC Next in the summer of 2014 and it was absolutely wonderful. At first what really drew me to the program was the emphasis on creating and putting on your own show. I was extremely excited that I got in and I loved the program from the first day. The atmosphere felt so great, so perfect. It was so loving and I could tell that everyone wanted to be there, students and teachers. I loved that I got to work with new teachers and be around different dancers that I was not used to. My favorite part of our days was the choreography class that we took. I felt like the class was so open and I was never afraid to express myself and felt that I could move freely. In the choreography class everyone had the opportunity to create a piece to be potentially chosen for the showcase, and I was fortunate enough to make my ideas a reality! I was so grateful that I was chosen to create a piece for the concert, but also quite nervous. I had no idea whether people were going to enjoy it or not, or if they were even going to understand it. What kept my nerves under control was all the support and guidance I received from my peers and teachers. The process was also very different from what I was used to. Creating and teaching the choreography to the selected dancers was quick, but it taught me how to deal with the pressure of time (which is great, because I can whip out a piece fairly quickly now!). Also, the experience taught me how to delegate and how to cast people within the dance. I learned how to be more observant with my dancers and with myself too. I got so much out of attending DC Next. I learned about choreography, yes, but also about performing and what to do to put on an awesome show! I use all that I learned everyday and I have DC Next to thank for that. It was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone!”

Thank you all for sharing your experiences!

And thanks for reading! Please share, comment, and subscribe to our page!

Sincerely,

IMG_0036-0

Leave a Reply

