From Behind the Scenes

I am delighted that Meghan Mucklow Pietrantonio, a board member for Dance Canvas, is featured this week!

20140619-201534-72934185.jpg

Aside from helping keep our organization on track, Meghan works with SunTrust Bank Foundations and Endowments Specialty Practice as Vice President and Relationship Manager in the Atlanta office. She has been working in Atlanta in the nonprofit sector for the past 9 years.
Meghan started her nonprofit career at the Metro Atlanta Arts and Culture Coalition (MAACC), where she served as Editor-in-Chief of AtlantaPlanIt.com, metro Atlanta’s most extensive listing of arts and cultural events. In January 2007, she was promoted to Interim CEO for the organization.
Meghan holds an MBA from Georgia Tech and is a cum laude graduate of Vanderbilt University. She is an alumna of LEAD Atlanta Class of 2014. She volunteers her time with several civic and community service organizations including Georgia Tech, Woodruff Arts Center, Boys and Girls Clubs of Atlanta and Junior Achievement.
Meghan lives in Collier Hills with her husband, Kyle and daughter, Cora.

We asked Meghan to share her experience as a dancer and how it has shaped her position on our board at Dance Canvas. Let’s see what she had to say:

Growing up, I danced. I tried sports, and I was in the band in middle school; but, I didn’t have the deep-down desire to pursue those activities like I did for dance. I was passionate about dance.

Starting in 6th grade, I was in the company at my studio. In high school I made the dance team, a year-round varsity sport. My typical afternoon during high school went something like this: bell rings at 3:30, change into dance team practice clothes and eat a snack; dance team practice for an hour and a half; jump in the car to go to the studio, wolf down some dinner and change into my tights and leotard; 1 ½ ballet class, 1 ½ hour jazz or variations or modern class; drive home, do homework and get in bed at about 11. For four years, I did this four nights of the week and spent most of my weekends at the studio in rehearsals. I spent my summers away at conservancy programs dancing 8-10 hours a day. I had my mother’s credit card number memorized I ordered pointe shoes by phone so often. It goes without saying that I had to make sacrifices to keep up this schedule and commitment. My parents had to too.

So, why did I do it? I loved it. I loved working so hard every night to improve my technique. I loved going across the floor, flying through the air with grande jétes and hitting double and triple pirouettes. I loved laughing at myself in the mirror as I tried a new hip hop combination. I loved my girlfriends and the camaraderie of being on a team or in a corps. I loved performing.

Looking back, I realize that these jam-packed years taught me many life lessons that continue to impact me and give me drive. Dance taught me discipline and time management. Dance helped me grow up with confidence and encouraged my creativity. Dance gave me my first leadership opportunities.

Today, I’m retired from being a dancer on stage, but dance is still a big part of my life. Now, instead of being on stage, I am in the audience and behind the scenes. I have the pleasure of lending my leadership, business experience and skills as a Board Member of Dance Canvas.
The decision to join the board of Dance Canvas was an easy one for me because the mission of the organization is so important to the future of dance in Atlanta. I believe that we have to support and groom the next generation of choreographers and creators here in Atlanta so that we can attract more dance to the region. With more opportunities to perform, more dancers will move here. With more venues to create, more choreographers will move here. With more performances to attend, more audiences will move here. Everyone wins.

I’m honored to be a part of an organization that moves dance in Atlanta forward.

Thanks, Meghan!
And thanks for reading, DC Supporters!
Share, comment, subscribe!

Sincerely,

20140619-202039-73239819.jpg

Leave a Reply

